Daily Prompts · Post A Day · Self Reflection · Uncategorized

Open and Happy

What a day!

Getting good news early in the morning always makes me smile. I watched them both with huge smiles at one point and I also saw them sad. I saw how he looked at her and I knew it was love and not lust in his eyes… I walked beside her and saw her pain, both in pain – hurting in different ways.

We all know that relationships are not easy. Today though, I realized that helping a friend out during a rough patch in her life was well worth the wait. Not only for her or him but it made me realize that I too needed to take some of the advice I was giving her.

I like to call her “F” and him “J”…


I will share a quote I shared with “F” …

“Never give up on something you really want! It’s difficult to wait but more difficult to regret.”

Without getting in too much detail… I told her that one thing she needed to learn was to be patient. Something that took me years. I see her and see me when I started dating my husband… but that made me help her not give up. Learning to be open and accept our partner in doing the same is not easy but along the way I too saw that there was so much more to share with my husband. Like me singing to a song that I wanted him to learn how to play on the guitar, embarrassed at times that he would think I would suck at singing (because I think i’m great at it 🙂 ) Like having him be able to open up to me about things I didn’t accept of him in the beginning… Sometimes I wouldn’t take his jokes as jokes, etc.

So if by chance you are reading my blog today… Know that the best way to start a relationship is with an open mind and open heart. Everything will eventually fall into place. It may take months, it may take years, but what’s meant to be will always be.

I am happy that my friend is HAPPY again! So to F and J – Enjoy your new beginnings… Don’t let anyone put your relationship down because at the end of the day, only you both can make each other happy. Concentrate on building a stronger relationship together and look forward to what’s to come.

and to my husband – (Felix, I hope you do read this one) Thank you for letting me be me. For taking all my highs and lows, I know I am not an easy person to be with, for sticking up with me when at times I know you were ready to run, for being patient with me and for not giving up on me. Thank you for giving me three amazing children and for being the best father to them… But mostly, thank you for making me a stronger person.

Photo credit: FD

happy-quotes-162

 

Leave a Reply

